March 4, 2015

Sonfolk - Self Title (1971)

Gene: Jesus Music / Rock
Password: 2015

Minnesota’s Sonfolk consists of two guys and one girl, backed on this appealing primitive custom production by five additional guests. Side one consists mainly of folky guitar-and-piano light rock covers such as ‘Sweet Sweet Spirit’, ‘Morning Has Broken’, and ‘Wish We’d All Been Ready’, dragging a bit on a medley of ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ and ‘The Old Rugged Cross’. A lazy country rocker ‘God Power’ pokes along quietly with some nice electric guitar. Side two, however, are where the real surprises come in. ‘Stand’ charges forth with a crude driving fuzzed riff, ending with some psychy warbled reverse guitar. More psychy basement guitar envelopes the forlorn ‘Traveling Man’, an excellent rural rock kind of ballad. The bluesy ‘Personal Boogie’ struts along slowly with wailing harmonica, slick bottleneck guitar and seedy vocals, while the ballad ‘Matthew 6:22’ gets a lift from a wistful violin accompaniment. The moody rural vibes resurface on the powerful 7-minute ‘Homecoming’, starting softly on a mysterious acoustic theme, building up to a hard-rocking climax, then quietly fading out again. Simple black and white cover photo of the trio seated under a pine tree. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition)

01 – Sweet Sweet Spirit
02 – Morning Has Broken
03 – Bridge Over Troubled Water The Old Rugged Cross
04 – God Power
05 – I Wish We’d All Been Ready
06 – Stand
07 – Traveling Man
08 – Personal Boogie
09 – Matthew 6:22
10 – Homecoming

Download: CLICK HERE


  1. Thanks for the post of this rare and beautiful album.
    God bless!


Note: All rude / spam comments are deleted...