August 13, 2016

Phoenix Sonshine - The Exodus (1975)

Genre: Jesus Music Era
Password: BKM2015

Note: File has been checked.No errors..  Just wrong password posted.. Sorry about that.. (8-13-16)

  1. Phoenix Sonshine - The Exodus (4:00)
  2. Phoenix Sonshine - We Only Came To Sing (3:42)
  3. Phoenix Sonshine - The Understanding Love (3:22)
  4. Phoenix Sonshine - God's Prologue (3:08)
  5. Phoenix Sonshine - Paperback Bible (2:19)
  6. Phoenix Sonshine - Jesus Is (2:28)
  7. Phoenix Sonshine - backslider Blues (2:04)
  8. Phoenix Sonshine - Waymaker (3:46)
  9. Phoenix Sonshine - Christ Lives Today (4:02)


  1. Thanks KJ..... Here's a text file for the LP

    PHOENIX SONSHINE - The Exodus (Destiny D-2011-S) 1975

    Released on Destiny and on Maranatha with a different layout of the back covers MP3@160 kbps

    Bigger production for the sophomore effort, even dragging in the Pitu Guli Folk Orchestra (whoever they are) for the mysterious title track, playing such commonplace instruments as gaida, gadulka, tamboura, tapan, and kaval (sounds like bagpipes to me). Evan Williams returns as producer and his touch is definitely here: the wah-wah guitar, acoustic guitars up-front. Fuller sound, more diverse, some bluegrass (‘Paperback Bible’ – “I didn’t have the money for the leather bound kind”), blues (‘Backslider Blues’ with harmonica and rippling piano licks), soulful rock (the brass-backed ‘Waymaker’), and orchestrated ballads (‘Christ Lives Today’ and the heavily wah’d ‘The Understanding Love’), succeeding more often than not. Lots more assistance this time from the likes of Al Perkins, David Diggs, others. Sure fits into that early Maranatha country-ish folkrock sound – in fact the label later picked up the lp for distribution (HS 777/23). Both releases have the same front cover photo. The back cover of the Destiny release features several b&w photos of the group, while the Maranatha back has another color photo of the trio in the desert. (The Archivist by Ken Scott, 4th Edition).

    01 The Exodus 4:01
    02 We Only Came To Sing 3:43
    03 The Understanding Love 4:01
    04 God's Prologue 3:07
    05 Paperback Bible 2:17
    06 Jesus Is 2:28
    07 Backslider Blues 2:03
    08 Waymaker 3:47
    09 Christ Lives Today 4:08


Note: All rude / spam comments are deleted...