October 24, 2015

Latter Rain - Self Title (1976)

Gene: Christian 70s Rock / Jesus Music
Location: Kentucky (USA)
Bitrate: 320k CBR

Password: BKM2015

Virtual unknown private press (500) from northern Kentucky scores a solid winner in the rural progressive hard-rock category.  ‘Bondage’ opens with deep growling wah-wah, powerhouse organ joining in a moment later.  Side one in non-stop action, guitarist John Redell clearly having fun with those lengthy fast-fingered riffs.  Ken Kuper supplies piano, synthesizer, electric piano and organ, the latter of which is heavily spotlighted on this lp.  Mike Wilson and Ross Wilson provide bass and drums respectively.  Features eight original compositions with titles like ‘I Have’, ‘Open Your Heart’, ‘Give Him A Chance’, ‘Jesus Is The Cure’, ‘Such A Change’, ‘Proverbs’ and ‘Freedom’.  For a home-made album this is exceptional.  Recorded at QCA Studio in Cincinnati.  Mysterious lost-in-time cover that calls out “rare… rare… rare…”.     (The Archivist, 4th edition by Ken Scott).

01 – Bondage [00:04:15]
02 – I Have [00:04:32]
03 – Open Your Heart [00:03:36]
04 – Give Him A Chance [00:03:31]
05 – Jesus Is The Cure [00:03:15]
06 – Such A Change [00:05:07]
07 – Proverbs [00:04:57]
08 – Freedom [00:02:38]



Post a Comment

Note: All rude / spam comments are deleted...