July 27, 2021

Hey Ruth – Allegretto (199?)


Christian Funk Alt. Rock

199? (no label)

Don Chaffer
Lori Chaffer

Side 1:

  1. Hey Hey Hey
  2. Come to Me
  3. To the Singer on the Stage
  4. I’m the One
  5. His Perfection

Side 2:

  1. Soul of Slavery
  2. Who is in Me
  3. Big Word Tyranny
  4. The Animal
  5. Hunting the Tender Heart

Hey Ruth was one of the bands that Don and Lori Chaffer were in before they formed Waterdeep. In fact, you can hear a lot of the later Waterdeep sound in these songs. Kind of alt-rock-ish, kind of funky, kind of folk-ish rock. The cassette above is all the information I have about this one specifically, so no release date or names of who played on it. The same is true for the other tape I have by them called Largo. However, the Shaffers did release a compilation double CD (called Old Stuff) that had many of the songs here on it with the date of 1991-1993. So I have some idea of when this was released. “Come to Me” and “Who is in Me” didn’t seem to make it on to the compilation CD in 1998. Also, some of the songs that are on the compilation might be older or later versions than the ones here.<not my review>




  1. Were you ever able to locate the songs from "Largo" tape? Thx


Note: All rude / spam comments are deleted...