August 15, 2016

HIS - Because We Are ''His'' (1974)

Genre: Jesus Music Era
Password: BKM2016

The first thing that catches your eye about this 15-person youth outfit is their garb: striped pants for the guys, red blouses and blue miniskirts for the girls, plus colorful polka dot kerchiefs and sashes. Musically they’ve got a fun homegrown electric sunshine folk/pop thing going on that’s right in step with the whole Ralph Carmichael teen scene, but with an occasional surprising edge that transcends their outfits. Some familiar covers, including ‘He’s Everything To Me’, ‘The New 23rd’ and ‘This Little Light Of Mine’. ‘He’s There’ is a nice moody acoustic track featuring just a couple of the singers, while ‘Two Open Doors’ strums along to a catchy jangly ‘60s-ish pop melody. ‘Sweet Salvation’ is the album’s standout, a male solo track with cool basement electric guitar leads and a spirited garage folk-rock groove ala Holy Ghost Reception Committee #9. Closes with an energetic rock-n-roll hand-clapper called ‘God’s Family’. Only a handful of lesser piano or a cappella things. From a place called His Place in Goldendale, Washington. Released on a custom branch of the Light label.  (Ken Scott - Archivist)

  1. HIS - This Little Light Of Mine (1:36)
  2. HIS - He's Everything to Me (3:01)
  3. HIS - Then Came Jesus (2:15)
  4. HIS - A Minute Won't Wait (2:27)
  5. HIS - He's There (3:19)
  6. HIS - God's Family (3:38)
  7. HIS - That They Will Be One (2:13)
  8. HIS - I'll Never Forget (2:25)
  9. HIS - Reach Out To Jesus (2:42)
  10. HIS - Sweet Salvation (2:55)
  11. HIS - Two Open Doors (2:38)
  12. HIS - The New 23rd (1:49)
  13. HIS - Medley: Right Now & Now Walk With God (3:25)


Note: All rude / spam comments are deleted...