August 15, 2016

Special Treasure - I Have A Friend (1977)

Genre: Jesus Music Era
Password: BKM2016

Superbly done electric folk-rock private press from five-person male/female band, similar and of equal quality to Dove, Phoenix Sonshine and The Way. Skips from jangly 12-string Jesus music (the title song, ‘Jesus Is My Hope’) to moody rural acoustic rock (‘He Might Come To Night’, ‘Forgiven’) to breezy upbeat tunes with nimble jazz-influenced electric guitar leads (‘Praise Him’, ‘All That Money’, ‘Love Ya Jesus’) to country rock (‘Empty Shell’). Would have been a perfect release for the early Myrrh or Maranatha labels. Features ten original songs. Sharp water-color cover art of palm tree and open treasure chest bordered by an ancient map. (The Archivist by Ken Scott).

01. I Have A Friend
02. Praise Him
03. Empty Shell
04. He Might Come Tonight
05. Glory To Jesus
06. All That Money
07. Forgiven
08. Jesus is My Hope
09. Love Ya Jesus
10. There is a Love



  1. KJ, thanks
    I haven't seen this one before.

    Here's a list of the musicians in the group.

    Teresa Smith - vocals
    John Patka - guitar, vocals
    Doug Martin - guitar, vocals
    Ray Ritter - bass
    Matt Smith - drums, percussion, vocals

  2. Fantastic! I didn't know this type of music existed in the 70s (of course, I was only 1yr old when this album was released) and I didn't start paying attention to Christian music until the late 80s. This blog has really expanded my understanding of little-known artists / bands.

    I was pleasantly surprised when listening to Special Treasure. They were very talented. Yes, it's VERY JESUS-y but I guess that's par for the course for God music back then (no criticism intended). Thank you for uploading this special treasure :)

  3. Irmão especial para Jesus e para todos do seu Blog. Jesus Abençoe !!!


Note: All rude / spam comments are deleted...